Embracing the granny (square) life

This semester, I wanted to start a project. Something I could pickup on evenings and weekends. I settled on a granny square blanket, partly because I wanted to improve my crocheting skills, and partly because granny squares are quick to whip up. I love this project because even though the final product is going to take a long time to complete, finishing each granny square is rewarding, which keeps my motivation up.

Here’s an overview of my project to date.

Choosing a colour scheme.

The inspiration for the colour scheme came from Daisy Cottage Design’s adorable Granny Square Baby Blanket.

Photo Credits & Copyright: Maddy Ewins
Photo Credits & Copyright: Maddy Ewins

Gathering tools.

Yarn. I used Red Heart Soft. I chose an acrylic yarn because the blanket will be heavily used and need washing. The colours are “Light Grey Heather”, “Off White”, and “Turquoise”.

Tools. Scissors to cut yarn when changing colours or finishing a square, darning needle to weave in the ends, and 5.5mm crochet hook.

Photo Credits & Copyright: Maddy Ewins
Photo Credits & Copyright: Maddy Ewins

Learning how to crochet a granny square.

There is a plethora of online patterns and tutorials for creating a granny square (GS). Of the many, many resources I have seen, the following were the best, most helpful:

Photo Credits & Copyright: Maddy Ewins
Photo Credits & Copyright: Maddy Ewins

Planning pattern and size.

Each square is approximately 3.5″ x 3.5″. Originally, I wanted to make the blanket 10 x 10, but quickly realized the blanket would be quite small – barely big enough to cover the legs of one person. Therefore, I decided to increase the size to 15 x 15 for a total size of approximately 53″ x 53″.

Initially, all the squares were going to be multi-coloured. But I tried out a single colour square and enjoyed how quickly it came together. The original design was modified to include a single colour square border around the multi-coloured squares in the center. When I had enough squares to lay it out and see how that would look, I didn’t like it. Instead, I laid out the multi-coloured and single-coloured squares in a checkerboard pattern and loved the look.

Joining granny squares.

Bella Coco does a really nice video tutorial for joining granny squares. I used the single crochet method.

Photo Credits & Copyright: Maddy Ewins
Photo Credits & Copyright: Maddy Ewins

Current progress.

Currently, I am a little under halfway done – the blanket is 15×7 squares. I have 120 more squares to crochet to reach my goal of 15×15, lots of ends to weave in, and squares to crochet together! Hopefully this project will come together by Christmas…

Photo Credits & Copyright: Maddy Ewins
Photo Credits & Copyright: Maddy Ewins

Let me know what you think in the comments below! What projects are you currently working on?

3 thoughts on “Embracing the granny (square) life

  1. Maddy, I have seen your finished squares and I believe you’re well on the way to an heirloom. The end result will be your reward! Love Gma

Leave a Reply

